DynRow for the Unreal Engine: URow

I’ve been binge watching all the Unreal Engine tutorial videos on Youtube for the last days. The concept of the engine gets more clear with every small step I’m taking.

Yesterday I started implementing the ConstPace bot from DynRow into Unreals Blueprint interface. It worked quite well, here’s a screenshot of the layout:

overview

And here’s the curve I’m currently using to create a decent looking rowing dynamic:

curve

It’s working quite well for now, I’ve just uploaded a video to Youtube to show the progress. This however is just a small step, I’ve got a lot of things on my list: Create more complex bots, build the UI, implement a backend to access the ergometer, … The list goes on and on.

Here’s the video:

5 thoughts on “DynRow for the Unreal Engine: URow

  1. I came across your post on Reddit while I was searching /r/rowing to see if anyone had posted anything about the Nordictrack RW200, which I was researching since it’s $300 cheaper than the Concept2 with PM5. (The fact that you can do this with the PM5 cemented my choice in erg, however.)

    I checked out your github and saw it hadn’t been updated in 3 months and was worried the project had stalled, but then discovered your blog and that you were working on getting DynRow working with the Unreal Engine.

    Awesome stuff! Can’t wait to order my erg and give it a try.

    1. To be honest the development is currently not progressing very much. This it mostly because of the lack of support for the concept 2 api, but also because it isn’t very simple to integrate Bluetooth smart into the unreal engine. There are however projects emerging which could help turn this around. I’m also looking into a c# port of DynRow, it would work way better then the current python version. I’ll post an update during the weekend.

      Besides this I must say that the Ergometer by concept 2 is worth it’s money, you made a good decision.

      1. The fact that DynRow was in Python and OpenSource was a plus for me 🙂 I worked with Django at my previous job and have been using python pretty much exclusively for much of my Linux Admin scripting needs.

        My question would be why would you need to integrate the Bluetooth stuff directly into Unreal? If you are planning on multiplayer, why not have a python based daemon that handles the SQLite/multiplayer storage and network transmission per game tick and has hooks for whatever UI needs it? Could use a barebones PyGame interface for devices such as RaspberryPi or the Unreal interface on beefier machines, but everyone gets to play regardless of their computing power and see the same data, just in different formats.

        That approach would also let someone run in a ‘headless’ mode with the daemon only and no UI if they only wished to record their erg session data in a manner that could be easily scripted to output various other formats such as csv,excel,etc at a later date.

  2. I’m very undecided regarding the technical base of such a software.

    My main issue with the Python based approach was that PyRow depends on libUSB, which makes it quite complicated to install and configure. It’s also not a solution which would run on a mobile platform very easily.

    A C++ based application is easier to install for the typical user. So is a package by the Unreal Engine. The big advantage of the Unreal Engine is that it also runs on mobile devices, I think that most users would want to use their Tablets/Phones as a base. Most people do not have an ergometer at home, they’re mostly at gyms and rowing clubs.

    kdahlhaus created a wrapper for the offical SDK which looks very promising:
    https://github.com/kdahlhaus/easy-erg
    Could be a good foundation for a C++-based backend which then talks to different frontends.

  3. Hi Nils,

    I like what you’ve done with Unity. I had a similar project started a few years ago using the Torque Game Engine. At the time, it was more or less the only reasonably priced 3D game engine available. I had it to the point of being able to drive a scull around a river:

    Good luck with your efforts. I just saw DynRow today and hope to give it a try soon. I too tend to come back to messing around with rowing software as the fall and winter set in.

Leave a Reply

